Eivind Aarset's IE

Eivind Aarset's IE

The Sugar Club Dublin
The Sugar Club, Dublin
The Sugar Club Dublin 08/02/2017 20:00
08/02/2017 20:00

Event Information

Age Information

This is an over 18s event. You may be required to show ID (driver's licence, Garda / PSNI ID or passport only). Right of admission is reserved.
Eivind Aarset IE
with support from Vanishing Lakes

Eivind Aarset - guitar
Erland Dahlen – drums & more
Wetle Holte – drums & more
Audun Erlien - bass

Eivind Aarset is a guitarist with a unique musical vision that absorbs and reflects all manner of music while retaining an enviable individualism and high quality craftsmanship that can span from quiet intimacy to searing intensity. He is a musician who has succeeded in the difficult task of creating an immediately identifiable sound and marrying it to a will to investigate as many musical possibilities as he can find or imagine.

His debut as a bandleader on Jazzland Recordings was described by the New York Times as "one of the best post-Miles electric jazz albums", setting a high benchmark that Aarset has consistently met and exceeded, both in the studio and in live performance.

As one of Norway's most in-demand guitarists, Eivind Aarset has worked with Jon Hassell, David Sylvian, Laurie Anderson, Bill Laswell, Sly & Robbie, Tigran Hamasyan, Jan Bang, Jan Garbarek, Marilyn Mazur, Andy Sheppard, Hamid Drake, Husnu Selnederici and Arve Henriksen to name a few. He has worked with Nils Petter Molvaer's band, (appearing on all of Molvaer's albums up to 2010, including the breakthrough album "Khmer" and 2006's award-winning "ER"). And he has a long lasting collaboration with Dhafer Youssef, both live and in the studio.

Aarset's musical awakening happened when, at the age of 12, he heard Jimi Hendrix. "I started on the guitar as soon as I heard him," he recalls with a smile. “I bought a secondhand Hendrix record and that was it. Then I started getting into rock bands like Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd before my older brother introduced me to the music of Miles Davis, Weather Report and the ECM sound of Jan Garbarek and Terje Rypdal.”

As part of the band, Ab & Zu, he created the unique guitar style and sound he would later develop further as part of saxophonist Bendik Hofseth's group. However, it was his involvement with Bugge Wesseltoft and the Oslo Jazz underground that crystallized the sound he was seeking: "What drew me to this music was the hypnotic grooves and musical freedom I found," says Eivind. "There's was no established rules or tradition in what I was doing. Rhythm was the centre of the music, the landscape the soloist travels through. It felt like fresh territory."

The three long-time collaborators who will join Aarset on this tour, are all important musicians on the Norwegian scene:

Erland Dahlen has played on over 130 records since the mid-1990s, and has toured with an impressive list of top-ranking artists in a variety of genres: Kiruna, Mike Patton/ Kaada, Mathias Eick, Serena Maneesh, Arve Henriksen, Hanne Hukkelberg, Nils Petter Molvaer and Madrugada. He has released two albums under his own name, “Rolling Bomber” and “Blossom Bells”.

Wetle Holte was one of the founding members of the Norwegian nu-jazz group Wibutee, and composed and recorded four albums with this group. Holte has also a career as record producer, and has released one album, “Hurricane” under his own name. He has performed with Bugge Wesseltoft, Anja Garbarek, and he has been a collaborator with Aarset since 1998.

Audun Erlien also has a long history with Aarset, they have frequently played together since the eighties. Erlien is well known for his work with Nils Petter Molvaer, Bernhoft, Bendik Hofseth, Anja Garbarek, Masha Vahdat and Matthias Eick to name a few. And he has his own project “Spirit in the Dark” who just released their debut album on Jazzland Records.

Eivind Aarset has released 7 albums under his own name: Electronique Noire (1998); LightExtracts (2001); Connected (2003); Sonic Codex (2007); Sonic Codex Orchestra: Live Extracts (2010) all on the Jazzland label & Dream Logic (2012) on ECM and IE (2015) on Jazzland.

“Norwegian guitarist creates intricate instrumental headbangers and glacial chill-out on seventh album. it ́s his best album yet ****)” MOJO on IE

“a wild and sometimes uncomfortable listen, but proves that lyricism and raw noise aren’t contradictory” The Guardian on IE

“On his ECM debut as a leader, the innovative and creatively restless Norwegian guitarist opts for sparse, gradually unfolding soundscapes that emphasize the meditative component of his work.” Guitar Player Magazine on Dream Logic

Ticket Information:
General Admission: €18.00 incl. booking fee
Unreserved seating