Swami and The Bed of Nails

Swami and The Bed of Nails

The Workmans Club Dublin
The Workmans Club, Dublin
The Workmans Club Dublin 21/09/2024 20:00
21/09/2024 20:00

Event Information

Age Information

This is an over 18s event. You may be required to show ID (driver's license, Garda / PSNI ID or passport only). Right of admission is reserved.

Foggy Notions and U:Mack present: Swami and The Bed of Nails


All Hail Swami John Reis! He of Hot Snakes and Rocket From The Crypt and Drive Like Jehu and many, many others. His latest career decision is the formation of Swami And The Bed Of  Nails. We're excited to announce the Friday, August 2 release of the band's debut album, All Of This Awaits You (pre-order/pre-save/pre-add here). Produced by John Reis and mixed by Ben Moore, All Of This Awaits You was born out of the final Hot Snakes writing sessions in 2023. Transforming into what Reis describes as "a growing tributary" after the passing of his longtime friend and bandmate Rick Froberg, the songs on the eventual nine-song album presented here come from this challenging time of reflection and redirection.  John Reis sings and plays guitar along with Tommy Kitsos (of Night Marchers and CPC Gangbangs) on bass, Joe Guevara (of Lady Dottie and the Diamonds) on piano and synthesizer, "session cat" Richard Larson on drums and Mark Murino (of Radio Wendy and Dirty Sweet) on second guitar. Their sound is ever evolving but at the moment is  firmly rooted in the early sounds of punk rock and rock n roll. They offer an immediate blast of joy that celebrates our time on earth. It is nostalgia for a past that most likely never happened. 


It is the hope that the future will bring us more noise and many more parties. It is an idealized pursuit intended to elevate the status of the simplest pleasures and ridicule the unattractive lust of the unhindered ambitious. The music is a reenactment of the past lives of elderly teenagers returning once again to sustain their echo. Join them in this pursuit live and in concert. The bands set list will feature songs complaining about the crappy tools at Harbor Freight, lusting for hot dogs, getting electrocuted in the penis, charlatans disguised as angels, refusing to ask for directions as well as songs off the forthcoming album.


Ticket Information:


General Admission: €26.00 (Incl. Booking Fee)